14.04.23

For Dad:

All of a sudden, 20 years have passed.

The tears still fall even though they shouldn’t.

The white foam churns and covers most of the moody grey-blue sea 

as the wind cries.

Like the water swirled above me as I was drowning.

All I could do was splash till you dived in.

Colours mix as more tears fall 

to the grandfather songs you might have sung. 

One wave crumbles as another is formed.

It is not my life that passes before me 

but the life you might have had.

Such is life. 

For you: 

When the waves of life pick you up and slam you down. 

When you’re tumbling in the darkness not knowing which way to swim for air.

When you find yourself spinning like stars in that turbulence.

When you find yourself drowning, 

I’ll find you. 

The ocean brings back as many memories as you feed it.

And the water continues on its course.

In the flowing glow of sunset, all that remains are shadows.

You too, will go on your way.

Perhaps, you will return

as waves to the ocean.

And life.

Inspired by Vagues [waves] by Sacha Got and Marlon Magnée

@ J’ai pour moi 

les vents, 

les astres 

et la mer.   

[As for me, I have the waves, the stars and the sea]

an exhibition curated by Franck Cazenave

at Le Bellevue, Biarritz, France

Leave a comment